South Korea to Temporarily Waive Visa Application Fee for Indonesians

South Korea temporarily waives visa fee for Indonesians

As part of the initiatives organized for the historical Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Korean Commemorative Summit celebration, the Republic of Korea is going to temporarily waive the visa fees for Southeast Asian foreigners. This means that Indonesians will not need to pay the application fee in order to get a visa for South Korea.

There are currently several options available when it comes to obtaining a Korea visa for Indonesian citizens. However, Indonesians cannot visit South Korea visa-free.

The South Korea Visa Fee Exemption for Indonesians

With a statement to the media, the South Korean government has recently announced that Indonesian citizens wishing to visit South Korea will be able to do so without having to pay the visa application fee. The same waive will be applied to all applicants from Southeast Asia.

The Reason Why the Korean Visa Application Fee Is Being Waived

The South Korean government confirmed that the temporary fee waiver is being implemented as part of the initiatives surrounding the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Korean Commemorative Summit. The commemorative summit was created to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the ASEAN and Republic of Korea dialogue partnership.

The fee waiver is intended to acknowledge and celebrate dialogue in Southeast Asia and encourage tourism and exchange between the countries involved.

When Will the Korea Visa Fee Be Waived?

The waiver is a temporary measure. It will be part of the commemorative summit expected to run in Busan between November 25-26.

Indonesians will be able to apply for a Korea visa for free for 3 months — from October 1 to December 31, 2019. After that period, visa fees are expected to return to normality.

Do Indonesian Citizens Need a Visa to South Korea?

The South Korean special waiver does not waive the need to obtain a valid visa in order to travel to the Republic of Korea. Indonesians are required to get a visa to Korea before traveling, just like the majority of foreigners do.

The only exception to this rule is represented by Indonesian travelers holding an APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) that includes the code “KOR” on the reverse. These Indonesian nationals can travel to South Korea visa-free for business trips of up to 90 days.

All other Indonesians have several visa options available. One of the latest visas introduced by South Korea is the 10-year multiple-entry visa for civil servants, state enterprise employees, and employees of airlines that frequently fly to and from South Korea.

Travelers wishing to spend a shorter time in the country can obtain a standard tourist visa. South Korea is also expected to release a new eVisa soon. An eVisa is an electronic travel authorization. This means that eligible foreigners will be able to apply for the South Korea eVisa online from anywhere in the world. The application process is expected to only take minutes.

Which Countries Need a Visa to Enter South Korea?

Although Indonesians — and the majority of foreigners — need a visa, a number of nationals can travel to the Republic of Korea visa-free.

If you hold a passport issued by an EU member country, Australia, the U.S., Brazil, Argentina, or Japan or the following lists, you will be able to enter South Korea visa-free and stay in the country for up to 90 days. Other visa-free exceptions apply.

  • European Union European Union citizens (except Cyprus)
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Liechtenstein
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela